Skip to content

I miss my cat.

June 29, 2012

I’m definitely a cat person. An orange tabby person to be exact. I’ve never not had a cat and I’ve never not had a Theo for almost 15 years. Theo came from an animal shelter when I was 12 years old. I don’t remember a lot of things but I do remember going to the shelter that day. I wanted an orange cat and there he was. My mom reminded me the other day that Theo stuck his paw out of the cage as if to say hello to me. While I don’t fully remember that (it does sound about right though), I do remember it was Love at first sight.

I Love(d) this cat so, so much. Looking back on past romantic relationships and even looking at family relationships- I love this cat pretty much more than any other being. This cat was my world.. and I his. He was with me throughout my important life events. Starting and graduating highschool, meeting my first boyfriend and my last, my pregnancy, the birth of my first child… When I went on a trip to Washington I didn’t know how long I would stay. Theo stayed in California since I travelled on the grey hound bus. I planned on bringing him to Washington at a later time. Well, I started to Really miss him. I didn’t miss any of my (human) family. I just missed my cat. After just a couple of weeks I took a plane out to California to get my Kitty. We drove back to Washington together in my VW beetle. Theo was a great travel companion. Theo loved Washington just like me. He explored the trees and forest areas, and of course slept on my back every night.

I cuddled with this cat for years and years and years. He is a darn great cuddler. I miss his purr..I miss his purr. I miss him kneading my back…I miss his purr. This year is when his old age started to hit him. The past couple of months, he didn’t want to cuddle in my bed anymore. I think it was hard for him to get around and he mostly wanted to be left alone. He was still my lovable cat though. I would kneal down and pet him. I’d scratch his ears and get a great purr. Theo was always there for me and I’d often talk to him and tell him how much I loved him. I was feeling extra lonely the other night and I got out of bed and went to the living room where he was. I was lucky enough to tell him one last time that I love him and thanked him for always being there for me. He was the only constant in my life. I kissed him on his head. He passed away the following afternoon.

Theo was mellow, sweet, charming, playful. It’s strange not having a cat and strange feeling that I never need another- as I’ve already been fortunate enough to share my life with the world’s Greatest cat. Maybe in the future I’ll get my daughter an orange tabby that way she can have someone in her life as special as Theo was for me.

I miss you Theo. I hope you’re running through grass fields, climbing trees, watching birds, and eating all the tuna you desire. I love you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

